Obama on Al-Arabiya: First Presidential TV Interview

In a surprising move, President Obama spoke with the Arab TV network Al-Arabiya for his very first interview as President. Explaining his aims for greater diplomacy and dialogue in the Middle East conflict, Obama touched upon the potential for an eventual Palestinian state while maintaining diplomatic ties with Israel.
Obama further touched on the terrorists’ failing means and more importantly reaching out to the Muslim world to those with unclenched fists, as alluded to during his inauguration address:

“…their ideas are bankrupt. There’s no actions that they’ve taken that say a child in the Muslim world is getting a better education because of them, or has better health care because of them.

In my inauguration speech, I spoke about: You will be judged on what you’ve built, not what you’ve destroyed. And what they’ve been doing is destroying things. And over time, I think the Muslim world has recognized that that path is leading no place, except more death and destruction.


Now, my job is to communicate the fact that the United States has a stake in the well-being of the Muslim world, that the language we use has to be a language of respect.

But ultimately, people are going to judge me not by my words but by my actions and my administration’s actions. And I think that what you will see over the next several years is that I’m not going to agree with everything that some Muslim leader may say, or what’s on a television station in the Arab world — but I think that what you’ll see is somebody who is listening, who is respectful, and who is trying to promote the interests not just of the United States, but also ordinary people who right now are suffering from poverty and a lack of opportunity. I want to make sure that I’m speaking to them, as well.”

For the full text of the interview: http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2009/01/26/obama-al-arabiya-intervie_n_161127.html

~ by the reckoner on January 27, 2009.

Leave a Reply

 
